top of page

Paradox

On November 11, 2017 I want to my final have movie and brought my brother along to see paradox. Both my brother and myself Love kung fu movies and my brother speaks Mandarin so I invited him to go with me to see this movie expecting him to like it. Long story short I like the movie and he didn't.

I have seen many films by Wilson yip and I have pretty much enjoyed all of them the storytelling and the action he's good at what he does everybody in my family loves his style of movies.

The premise to me was like taken but ended up much darker and at times unsatisfying. I did like the story though I like the ending but I also thought it could've been better. There are some troops that they avoided that I thought were smart. I don't want to go into spoilers.

What I liked was the cinematography, the acting, and of course the kung fu fighting. Everything looks slick and clean and fast-paced like it's supposed to be in these types of movies. The movie was shot in both China and Thailand and so that's where my brother found conflicts with this movie.

He was disappointed because he knows what this director can do and he feels like when they did their shoot in Thailand or wherever was supposed to be Thailand that there was a conflict and culture between the two he said he could distinctly see when the Chinese director was directing and when someone else was trying to take over the two directing styles were very obvious to him. He knows a lot about these certain cultures so to me I did not notice much but to him he said it was pretty noticeable. He thinks that this movie was not made for Americans or westerners because of how we like or movies to flow but at the same time it would work for this group of people because they don't notice the subtle cultural conflicts.

Overall, I really like this film and they gave me a pretty good reading where as my brother did not which I find surprising but interesting.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page