top of page

HIFF Overview

I love movies, always have, it's probably why I picked cinematic production as my major and what I want to do with my life. So, going to film festivals especially free film festivals to write about seeing movies is a dream come true. This year myself and my classmates attended Hawaii international film Festival (HIFF) we're thousands of movie lovers and join together to see international films put on by hundreds of different directors from different countries and backgrounds.

I saw three movies Mary and the witches flower, the darkest hour, and paradox. Each movie very different and created by very different people from different parts of the world. And all in my personal opinion very well-made and highly recommended.

On opening night, I saw Mary and the witches flower and I had a great time being with my classmates and watching this beautiful fun animated movie. I judge this movie a little harshly just because of who is the producer is and the artistic style being so similar to another Japanese animation studio but overall, I think that it was well done and millions of people are going to love this film.

The second movie I saw I took my dad and I just called the darkest hour and it is about Winston Churchill and the political struggle he endured wow being prime minister during World War II in the UK. Both me and my dad loved the movie we both love war and political drama type movies and historical movies and this was right on the money. The cinematography was interesting the characters were likable and it just showed another side of history that someone from the US doesn't really think about as much.

The third movie I saw was paradox it's a kung Fu action movie about a cop whose daughter goes missing in Thailand and he travels there to try and find his daughter. I took my brother with me because he speaks mandarin and he's very into the culture and I thought he would enjoy it. To my surprise however he didn't but I did I love kung Fu movies as well and I only really saw cool fighting and bad guys getting what they got coming to them but my brother so something else. He saw more of the cultural Side of the movie and the different directing styles in certain clashes between the two filmmaking styles of Thailand and China. He did not give us move you get rating but I did.

Overall, I love going to this film festival it was fun and entertaining. I got to interact with my classmates outside of school, watch different movies from all over the world, and one of the better parts is because I'm a student I got to go for free because I'm press. It makes me sad that I'm graduating next semester because now I won't get to go to HIFF for free again. I hope myself someday I can have one of my own short films or even feature-length film in this festival.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page